Worth Reading–February 13, 2012

by Steve

This prayer from Paul Tautges is worth some reflection.

Help My Unbelief
By Paul Tautges

Father, You say You are sufficient for my every need, my Strength for my every weakness.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You say You work all things together for good for those who love You (even feebly).

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You say You create the deaf, dumb, blind (and genetically-disordered) for Your greater glory.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You made man in a fearful and wonderful fashion leaving much of my own inner workings an invisible mystery.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You say You are sovereign, that my service to You is a privilege of grace, not a divine need.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You say you do not despise me when my spirit is broken and my heart crushed.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You affirm I am inadequate in myself, but fully adequate in Christ.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Father, You call me Your son, a joint-heir with Your only-begotten Son.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Jesus, You invite me to “Come away and rest for a little while,” to let You yoke Yourself to my burdens in order to bring fruit from my labors even while I sleep.

– Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

